Live

1980

A tour of the USA doesn't start 'til half way through the year and entails forty-six shows over a three month period. It is the biggest tour Queen will ever undertake, and promotes the new album 'The Game'. Due to the success of the album, especially in America, every one of the forty-six shows will be performed before a capacity audience. The itinerary includes four consecutive nights at the L.A. Forum and three at Madison Square Garden in New York.

Freddie's image makes a drastic change for this tour, as well as wearing a costume in leather, he is now sporting a moustache and even shorter hair!After months of planning with the lighting company to design something different for this tour a state of the art 'interactive' rig is unveiled. The new lighting rig is called 'Fly Swatters' and is made up of seven moving arms covered in multi coloured banks of lights, and each driven by a guy in a seat. At most of the shows the support band are The Blasters.At the end of the year another tour of Europe is planned for November and December, with fellow brits Straight Eight as the support band. On the second night at Wembley, Queen play ‘Imagine’ as a tribute to John Lennon, who has been shot dead in New York the previous day. Like everyone touched by Lennon’s spirit, the band are devastated at the news and want to pay tribute to one of their greatest heroes in their show.

The Game North American Tour
Mon 30th June – Canada, Vancouver, PNE Coliseum
Tue 1st July – USA, Seattle, Coliseum
Wed 2nd July – USA, Portland, Coliseum
Sat 5th July – USA, San Diego, Sports Arena
Sun 6th July – USA, Phoenix, Compton Terrace
Tue 8th July – USA, Inglewood, Forum
Wed 9th July – USA, Inglewood, Forum
Fri 11th July – USA, Inglewood, Forum
Sat 12th July – USA, Inglewood, Forum
Sun 13th July – USA, Oakland, Coliseum
Mon 14th July – USA, Oakland, Coliseum
Tue 5th Aug – USA, Memphis, Mid South Coliseum
Wed 6th Aug – USA, Baton Rouge, Riverside Centroplex
Fri 8th Aug – USA, Oklahoma City, Myriad
Sat 9th Aug – USA, Dallas, Reunion
Sun 10th Aug – USA, Houston, Summit
Tue 12th Aug – USA, Atlanta, Omni
Wed 13th Aug – USA, Charlotte, Coliseum
Thu 14th Aug – USA, Greensboro, Coliseum
Sat 16th Aug – USA, Charleston, Civic Centre
Sun 17th Aug – USA, Cincinatti, Riverton Coliseum
Wed 20th Aug – USA, Hartford, Civic Centre
Fri 22nd Aug – USA, Philadelphia, Spectrum
Sat 23rd Aug – USA, Baltimore, Civic Centre
Sun 24th Aug – USA, Pittsburgh, Civic Centre
Tue 26th Aug – USA, Providence, Civic Centre
Wed 27th Aug – USA, Portland, Spectrum
Fri 29th Aug – Canada, Montreal, Forum
Sat 30th Aug – Canada, Toronto, CNE
Sun 31st Aug – USA, Rochester, Convention Centre
Wed 10th Sept – USA, Milwaukee, Mecca
Thu 11th Sept – USA, Indianapolis, Market Square Arena
Fri 12th Sept - USA, Kansas City, Kemper Arena
Sat 13th Sept – USA, Omaha, Civic Auditorium Arena 
Sun 14th Sept – USA, Minneapolis, St Paul Civic
Tue 16th Sept – USA, Ames, Hilton Coliseum 
Wed 17th Sept – USA, St Louis, Checkerdome
Fri 19th Sept – USA, Chicago, Rosemont Horizon
Sat 20th Sept – USA, Detroit, Joe Louis Arena
Sun 21st Sept – USA, Ohio, Richfield, Coliseum
Tue 23rd Sept – USA, Glens Falls, New York, Civic Centre
Wed 24th Sept – USA, Syracuse, War Memorial
Fri 26th Sept – USA, Boston, Boston Gardens
Sun 28th Sept – USA, New York, Madison Square Garden
Mon 29th Sept – USA, New York, Madison Square Garden
Tue 30th Sept – USA, New York, Madison Square Garden

The Game European Tour
Sun 23rd Nov – Switzerland, Zurich, Hallenstadion
Tue 25th Nov – France, Paris, La Retonde Le Bourget
Wed 26th Nov – Germany, Cologne, Sportshalle
Thu 27th Nov – Holland, Leiden, Groenoordhalle
Sat 29th Nov – Germany, Essen, Grughalle
Sun 30th Nov – Germany, Berlin, Deutchlandhalle
Mon 1st Dec – Germany, Bremen, Stadthalle
Fri 5th Dec – UK, Birmingham, International Arena, NEC
Sat 6th Dec – UK, Birmingham, International Arena,NEC
Mon 8th Dec – UK, London, Wembley Arena
Tue 9th Dec – UK, London, Wembley Arena
Wed 10th Dec – UK, London, Wembley Arena
Fri 12th Dec – Belgium, Brussels, Forest Nationale
Sat 13th Dec – Belgium, Brussels, Forest Nationale
Sun 14th Dec – Germany, Frankfurt, Festhalle
Tue 16th Dec – France, Strasbourg, Hall Rheus
Thu 18th Dec – Germany, Munich, Olympiahalle

Text taken from the forthcoming revised and updated edition of Queen Live: A Concert Documentary, by Greg Brooks & Gary Taylor

For further information on Queen live shows visit: www.queenconcerts.com

Live

Share this Article