Live

1981

In February the band leave London and fly to Japan, where the band undertake a series of five consecutive shows at the Budokan in Tokyo. As with all tours in Japan there are no support bands, and they play before capaicity audiences of 12,000.


Their first ever tour in South America commences on 28 February, where they play huge football stadiums in Argentina and Brazil. After arriving in  Buenos Aires they are greeted at the airport by their own music playing over the public address system. The band are also permitted to bypass lengthy arrival procedures, at the express orders of Argentina’s President.

The band return to South America in September for the second leg of the tour where concerts in Venezuela and Mexico are performed. Two other shows in Venezuela (September 29 and 30) are cancelled when former President Romulo Betancourt dies and the country’s population goes into a period of mourning. Betancourt’s deteriorating health had already jeopardised three shows, but he’d held on long enough for them to go ahead.

The last two concerts of the year take place in Canada on November 24th and 25th at Montreal's Forum which are to be filmed. The shows are organised purely because the band want to put together a full length film to properly document their live show. The original idea was to show the film outdoors, but various problems resulted and the idea was cancelled. It was decided that the film would show better at inside venues in America, and was shown throughout 1983. The eventual release of the film was a long and frustrating process, and then taking nearly three years to get from the concert stage and eventually into UK cinemas and onto home video in 1984.

The Game Japan Tour
Thu 12th Feb – Japan, Tokyo, Budokan
Fri 13th Feb – Japan, Tokyo, Budokan
Mon 16th Feb – Japan, Tokyo, Budokan
Tue 17th Feb – Japan, Tokyo, Budokan
Wed 18th Feb – Japan, Tokyo, Budokan

South American Tour
Sat 28th Feb – Argentina, Buenos Aires, Velez Sarsfield
Sun 1st Mar – Argentina, Buenos Aires, Velez Sarsfield
Wed 4th Mar – Argentina, Mar Del Plata, Estadio Municipal
Fri 6th Mar – Argentina, Rosario, Estadio Rosario Central
Sun 8th Mar – Argentina, Buenos Aires, Velez Sarsfield
Fri 20th Mar – Brazil, Sao Paulo, Morumbi Stadium
Sat 21st Mar – Brazil, Sao Paulo, Morumbi Stadium
Fri 25th Sept – Venezuela, Caracas, Poliedro De Caracas
Sat 26th Sept – Venezuela, Caracas, Poliedro De Caracas
Sun 27th Sept – Venezuela, Caracas, Poliedro De Caracas
Fri 9th Oct – Mexico, Monterrey, Estadion Universitano
Sat 17th Oct – Mexico, Puebla, Estadio Ignacio Zaragoza
Sun 18th Oct – Mexico, Puebla, Estadio Ignacio Zaragoza  
Tue 24th Nov – Canada, Montreal, Forum
Wed 25th Nov – Canada, Montreal, Forum

Text taken from the forthcoming revised and updated edition of Queen Live: A Concert Documentary, by Greg Brooks & Gary Taylor

For further information on Queen live shows visit: www.queenconcerts.com

Live

Share this Article