Live

1982

 Queen undertake one their biggest tours of Europe and the UK yet, with 30 dates in all and promoting the new 'Hot Space'album.


The biggest change to this tour, apart from a brand new lighting rig, is the addition of Morgan Fisher, the first person to play live on stage with the band as an auxilliary musician. He will play keyboards and piano to enhance the sound, especially on the new songs and giving Freddie the freedom to move around the stage more.

The support act for the tour is British band Bow Wow Wow. Regrettably, they will not stay for the duration because fans at one gig in Leiden decide to pelt them with bottles and food. Another British band called Airrace take over the support slot for the rest of the tour.

The tour ends at the band's Milton Keynes gig on June 5th, which again is filmed and shown on TV, but the whole show is not officially released until 2004.

In July they start their last tour of the USA, commencing in Montreal and having friend Billy Squier as the support act. Fred Mandel replaces Morgan Fisher on Keyboards and piano and remains throughout the American and Japanese legs of this tour. After the last two nights at the LA Forum, they return to the USA in September and play two songs live on the TV programme 'Saturday Night Live', playing 'Under Pressure' and 'Crazy Little Thing Called Love'.

A return trip to Japan in October entails six concerts in five cities, culminating with an outdoor show at Seibu Lions Stadium on 3 November. The show is filmed and later issued as an exclusively Japanese video titled 'Live In Japan'.

Hot Space European tour
Fri 9th Apr – Sweden, Gothenburg, Scandinavium
Sat 10th Apr – Sweden, Stockholm, Johanneshovs Isstadion 
Mon 12th Apr – Norway, Oslo, Drammenshallen
Fri 16th Apr – Switzerland, Zurich, Hallenstadion
Sat 17th Apr – Switzerland, Zurich, Hallenstadion
Mon 19th Apr – France, Paris, Palais De Sport
Tue 20th Apr – France, Lyon, Palais De Sport
Thu 22nd Apr – Belgium, Brussels, Forest Nationale
Fri 23rd Apr – Belgium, Brussels, Forest Nationale
Sat 24th Apr – Holland, Leiden, Groenoordhalle
Sun 25th Apr – Holland, Leiden, Groenoordhalle
Wed 28th Apr – Germany, Frankfurt, Festhalle
Sat 1st May – Germany, Dortmund, Westfallenhalle
Mon 3rd May – France, Paris, Palais De Sport
Wed 5th May – Germany, Hannover, Eilenriedehalle
Thu 6th May – Germany, Cologne, Sportshalle
Fri 7th May – Germany, Cologne, Sportshalle
Sun 9th May – Germany, Würzburg, Carl-Diem Halle
Mon 10th May – Germany, Stuttgart, Sporthalle Boblingen
Wed 12th May – Austria, Vienna, Stadthalle
Thu 13th May – Austria, Vienna, Stadthalle
Sat 15th May – Germany, Berlin, Waldbuehne
Sun 16th May – Germany, Hamburg, Ernst Merck Halle
Tue 18th May – Germany, Kassel, Eissporthalle
Fri 21st May – Germany, Munich, Olympiahalle
Sat 22nd May - Germany, Munich, Olympiahalle

Hot Space UK Tour
Sat 29th May – UK, Leeds, Elland Road Football Stadium
Tue 1st June – UK, Edinburgh, Ingliston Showground
Wed 2nd June – UK, Edinburgh, Ingliston Showground
Sat 5th June – UK, Milton Keynes, Bowl

Hot Space North American tour
Wed 21st July – Canada, Montreal, Forum
Fri 23rd July – USA, Boston, Gardens
Sat 24th July – USA, Philadelphia, Wachovia Spectrum
Sun 25th July – USA, Washington DC, Capital Centre
Tue 27th July – USA, New York, Madison Square Garden
Wed 28th July – USA, New York, Madison Square Garden
Sat 31st July – USA, Cleveland, Richfield Coliseum
July – USA, Saturday Night Live
Mon 2nd Aug – Canada, Toronto, Maple Leaf Gardens
Tue 3rd Aug – Canada, Toronto, Maple Leaf Gardens
Thu 5th Aug – USA, Indianapolis, Market Square Arena
Fri 6th Aug – USA, Detroit, Joe Louis Arena
Sat 7th Aug – USA, Cincinatti, Riverfront Coliseum
Mon 9th Aug – USA, Meadowlands, Brendon Byrne Coliseum
Tue 10th Aug – USA, New Haven, Veterans Memorial Coliseum
Fri 13th Aug – USA, Chicago, Poplar Creek, Hoffman Estates 
Sat 14th Aug – USA, Chicago, Poplar Creek, Hoffman Estates 
Sun 15th Aug – USA, St Paul, Civic Centre Arena
Thu 19th Aug – USA, Biloxi, Civic Centre
Fri 20th Aug – USA, Houston, Summit
Sat 21st Aug – USA, Dallas, Reunion Arena 
Tue 24th Aug – USA, Atlanta, Omni
Fri 27th Aug – USA, Oklahoma, City Myriad
Sat 28th Aug – USA, Kansas City, Kemper Arena
Mon 30th Aug – USA, Denver, McNichols Arena
Thu 2nd Sept – USA, Portland, Coliseum
Fri 3rd Sept – USA, Seattle, Coliseum
Sat 4th Sept – Canada, Vancouver, Pacific Coliseum
Tue 7th Sept – USA, Oakland, Coliseum
Fri 10th Sept – USA, Arizona, Phoenix, Veterans Memorial Coliseum
Sat 11th Sept – USA, Irvine, Irvine Meadows Ampitheatre 
Sun 12th Sept – USA, Irvine, Irvine Meadows Ampitheatre 
Tue 14th Sept – USA, Los Angeles, Forum
Wed 15th Sept – USA, Los Angeles, Forum

Hot Space Japan Tour
Tue 19th Oct – Japan, Fukuoka, Kyuden Auditorium
Wed 20th Oct – Japan, Fukuoka, Kyuden Auditorium
Sun 24th Oct – Japan, Osaka, Hankyu Nishinomiyakyujo
Tue 26th Oct – Japan, Nagoya, Kokusai Tenjijo
Fri 29th Oct – Japan, Sapporo, Hokkaidoritso Sangyo Kyoshinakaijo
Wed 3rd Nov – Japan, Tokyo, Seibu Lions Stadium

Text taken from the forthcoming revised and updated edition of Queen Live: A Concert Documentary, by Greg Brooks & Gary Taylor

For further information on Queen live shows visit: www.queenconcerts.com

Live

Share this Article